The Dougies: Spring athletes honored for their excellence

Oshkosh North's Sydney Supple is FOX 11's softball player of the year. (WLUK)

GREEN BAY (WLUK) -- The spring sports season started as usual on the cool side, weather-wise, but then it heated up.

In the end, multiple teams won state titles and there were plenty of great individual performances.

With that in mind, it's time to award The Dougies to the best athletes this spring.


Green Bay Preble's Max Wagner. The junior led the Hornets to their fourth consecutive state tournament by hitting .500 with 5 home runs and 39 RBIs. The Clemson commit also had a 8-2 pitching record with a 0.68 ERA. Wagner was as dangerous with the bat as he was with his right arm on the mound.


Oshkosh North's Sydney Supple. The Northwestern commit completed an incredible high school career, leading the Spartans to a 31-0 record and their fist Division 1 state title. Supple hit 12 home runs and drove in 39 runs. In the circle, she was 29-0 with a 0.75 ERA. At the plate


Bay Port's Emma Nagel. The junior, who was also named state player of the year by multiple organizations, tallied 42 goals and 15 assists for the Pirates, who made the Division 1 state tournament for the third year in a row. Nagel was always "marked" but seemed to always find a way to get shots on goal and find the back of the net.


Kimberly's Rowen Ellenberg. The senior collected 18 points -- one first- and one second-place finish -- at the state meet in leading the Papermakers to their third straight Division 1 team title. Ellenberg won the 800- and placed second in the 1,600-meter runs as the Papermakers totaled 46 points.


Denmark's Leah Kralovetz. In 2018, Kralovetz placed second in each of the 1,600- and 3,200-meter runs at the Division 2 state meet. This past spring Kralovetz took first place in each event and without much problem. Kralovetz won the 1,600 by about six seconds and the 3,200 by 19 seconds.


Green Bay Southwest's Johnny Zakowski. The Trojan became the first Green Bay boys tennis player to win an individual state title since 1950 as he captured the Division 1 state championship. Zakowski defeated De Pere's Nathan Balthazor 7-5, 6-3.

Follow Doug Ritchay on Twitter @dougritchay